

Workshop on

"Copyrights and Patents"

Resource person: Dr. Chandra Sekhar Patro

Professor, Department of Pharmacy and Life science

Number of Participants:19

(Date: 20th September 2018)

REPORT

Resource person details:

Dr. Chandrasekhar Patro has teaching experience in pharmacy along with 7 years in research activities. His area of research interest is in novel drug delivery system

About the workshop

The workshop was organized on "Copyrights and Patents" on 20 th Sep 2018. Total 19(Nineteen) participants of SoET, SoM, SoAS and SoVET participated. This workshop focus was on to make participants enlighten skills to apply for patenting and protect copyright of the innovation achieved through research. Copyrights and patents provide legal grounds for ownership and the right to pursue legal recourse if someone infringes on your idea. Otherwise, people can go around stealing ideas and creations and selling them as their own. It's hard to prove that one person had an idea over another, which is why most artists and businesses apply for protection the second they create something new. Patents, typically utility patents, and copyrights are both types of intellectual property that grant rights to creators and inventors and protect their work from being exploited without their permission but differ in the type of property they protect. Business success hinges on ideas.

Objective of the workshop:

This workshop focus was on to make participants enlighten skills to apply for patenting and protect copyright of the innovation achieved through research.

OUTCOME:

The need of copy rights in the field of research was felt and skills and knowledge to prepare the write up and procedure of filing a patent was discussed. The participants were equipped with skills to apply for patenting and protect copyright of the innovation achieved through research.



The session on CopyRight & Patents





Workshop on "Copyrights and Patents" (Date: 20th September 2018) Attendance Sheet

1	Dr. P Annan Naidu	
2	Dr. Bhabendu Kumar Mohanta	
3	Sasmita Kumari Nayak	
4	Manoj Kumar Behera	
5	Mamata Garanayak	
6	Suvendu Kumar Nayak	
7	Shivani Nanda	
8	Raj Kumar Mohanta	
9	Rakesh Kumar Ray	
10	Shreela Dash	
11	Nilamadhab Dash	
12	Mamata P Wagh	
13	Debaraj Rana	
14	Dr. Prasanta Kumar Mohanty	
15	Dr. Smita Mishra Panda	
16	Dr. Susanta Kumar Mishra	

17	Dr. Umakanta Nayak	
18	Dr. Pramod Kumar Patjoshi	
19	Dr. Bibhunandini Das	

Dr. Prasanta Ku. Mohanty Dean Academic

Prabhat K. Pattnaik FDP Coordinator