

TUTORIAL WORKSHOP CUM FDP on "MATHEMATICAL FOUNDATIONS of STATIC & DYNAMIC OPTIMIZATION"

Resource Person:

Prof. Radhakant Padhi, PhD

FNAE, FAeSI, FASI, FIETE, FIE (I), AF-AIAA, SM-IEEE Honorary Provost, CUTM

HAL Chair Professor Dept. of Aerospace Engineering IISc.,Bangalore, 560012



Date: 28.05.2022

This **tutorial workshop cum FDP on "Mathematical foundations of Static & Dynamic Optimization"** was organised by the Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering (ECE), SoET, Bhubaneswar Campus, Centurion University of Technology and Management, Odisha, India. Total of 93 participated in the tutorial FDP in online and offline mode including both students and faculties.

Topics Covered:

An overview of Static Optimization

- Unconstrained optimization
- Constrained optimization with equality constraints
- Constrained optimization with inequality constraints
- Numerical Optimization
 - o Line search method
 - o Newton's method
 - o Steepest descent search
- A generic MATLAB function for optimization

Dynamic Optimization Fundamentals

- Optimal decision control variables
- Examples: guidance of missiles, guidance of UAVs, guidance of Spacecrafts
- Typical challenges
- Calculus of variations: basic concepts
- Boundary conditions
- Problem statement for a Dynamic optimization
- Solution approach for dynamic optimization

- o Direct approach: Gradient and Transcription methods
- o Indirect approach: Variation calculus
- Discussion on safe landing of Chandrayaan-3.

Sayan

Dr. Prasanta Ku. Mohanty Dean Academic

Co-ordinator: Dr Harish Chandra Mohanta

HOD, ECE

Images:

























Unconstrained Unconstrained $V_{I}(X^{k+1}) = V_{I}(X^{k}) + \left[\nabla^{2}J(X^{k}) \right] (X^{k+1} - X^{k}) + HOT$ $V_{I}(X^{k+1}) = V_{I}(X^{k}) + \left[\nabla^{2}J(X^{k}) \right] (X^{k+1} - X^{k})$ $V_{I}(X^{k+1}) = V_{I}(X^{k}) + \alpha \left[\nabla^{2}J(X^{k}) \right] p^{k}$ $0 \times \nabla J(X^{k}) + \alpha \left[\nabla^{2}J(X^{k}) \right] p^{k}$ $p^{k} = -\left(\frac{1}{\alpha}\right) \left[\nabla^{2}J(X^{k}) \right]^{-1} \nabla J(X^{k})$ $p^{k} = -\beta \left[\nabla^{2}J(X^{k}) \right]^{-1} \nabla J(X^{k}), \beta > 0$

LIST OF THE PARTICIPANTS

1	Name of the Participant R.C. Mohanty	Department Name MECH	Designation Professor
2	, Nilanchala Patra		
3	Dr.Chandra Sekhar Dash	ECE	Assstant Professor
4	NIMAY CHANDRA GIRI	ECE	Assstant Professor
5	N.Jeebaratnam	ECE	Assstant Professor
6	Sasmita Kumari Nayak	CSE	Assstant Professor
7	Dr Dillip Kumar Panigrahi Dr. Harish Chandra	MECH	Assstant Professor
8	Mohanta	ECE	Associate Professor
9	Swarna Prabha Jena	Swarna Prabha Jena	Assistant Professor
10	Rama Prasanna Dalai	EEE	Assistant Professor
11	Dr P A Sunny Dayal	ECE	Associate Professor
12	LALBABU PRASHAD	ECE	ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
13	Pooja Maharatha	Electrical Engineering	M.Tech Scholar
14	Biswaranjan Rout	Mechanical engineering	Asst. Ptof
15	SATYA RANJAN PATNAIK	Mechanical Engineering	Assistant Professor
16	Chinmay Das	Mechanical Engineering	Associate Professor
17	Dr Murali Malijeddi	ECE	Professor
18	T Jaganatha Patro	Physics	Asst. Prof.
19	Dr. Swarnalata Jena	Mathematics	Associate professor
	Dr. Rajendra Kumar		
20	Khadanga	EEE	Associate Professor
		Electronic	
24		communications	
21	Anwesha Mohanty	engineering Electronics and	Student
		Communication	
22	Deba Priya Manna	Engineering	Student
22		LIIGHICCIIIIG	Juuch

23	Abhishek Kumar Bhagat	ECE	Student
24	SOVAN SANKALP	CIVIL ENGINEERING	ASSISSTANT PROFESSOR
25	Alivarani Mohapatra	Electrical Engineering	Assistant Professor
		Electronics and	
		communication	
26	Dhiraj kumar	engineering	Student
		Electronic and	
27	Durgo Drocod Dath	Communication	Student
27	Durga Prasad Rath	engineering ECE	Student Student
28 29	Shreya Mishra Saubhagyalaxmi Singh	Mathematics	
29	Nachieketa Khamari	Widthematics	Assistant professor
30	Sharma	Physics	Professor
31	Deepak Kumar Pattanaik	, Department of Physics	Research Scholar
32	Shaweta Gulati Khullar	Electrical Engineering	Instructor
	Dr. Kamal Lochan	0 0	
33	Mohanta	Physics	Assistant Professor
34	Dr. Mohammed Siddique	Mathematics	Associate Prof.
35	JYOTIREKHA DAS	ETC	Assistant professor
36	Debaraj Rana	ECE	Research Scholar
37	Madhurima Das	Civil Engineer	PhD scholar
		Electronics and	
38	Rohit.S	Instrumentation	student UG
		Computer Science	
39	Dr. Niroi Kumar Dani	Engineering & Applications	Assistant Professor
	Dr. Niroj Kumar Pani		
40	Debapriya Parida	ETC Engineering	Assistant professor
41 42	Minakhi Behera	Electrical Engineering	Assistant Professor
42	Chandra Sekhar Mishra	ECE Electronics &	Asst Professor
		Communication	
43	Smruti Ranjan Nayak	Engineering	Lecturer
		MECHANICAL	
44	NARASINGH DEEP	ENGINEERING	ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
		Electronics and	
		Communication	
45	Dr. Ankush Kapoor	Engineering	Assistant Professor
		Electronics &	
40		Communication	
46	Chinmayee Dora	Engineering	Assistant Professor
47	Sasi Bhusan Padhi TUMBANATH	Mathematics	Assistant Professor
48	SAMANTARA	Mathematics	Associate Professor
49	Dr Dillip Kumar Panigrahi	Mechanical Engineering	Assistant Professor
75	Dr. Sudhansu Kumar	Electrical and	Associate Professor and
50	Samal	Electronics	Head
51	Riya Sah	EEE	Student
52	Dr. Amit Kumar Sahoo	EEE	Asst. Prof.
53	Sradhananda Nayak	Msc geo informatics	Student
		Msc applied	
54	Debajani Sahoo	Mathematics	Student
55	Arnada Samal	Applied science	Student
56	Sradhananda Nayak	Msc geo informatics	Student
57	Pranati Sahoo	Applied science	Student

58 59	Shibasmita subhadarshini sahu Dipan Kumar Das	MSc applied Mathematics Physics	Student PhD Research scholar
		Department of	
60	Duvitu Cundar Dout	Agricultural Extension Education	PhD Scholar
60 61	Dwity Sundar Rout Priyambada Mallick	Physics	Research Scholar
62	SANTANU KUMAR NAYAK	PHYSICS	Ph.D Research Scholar
63	Lalichetti Sagar	Agronomy	PhD scholar
64	Bh V S R K Ayyappa kumar	ECE	Assoc.Prof
65	Shuchi Chugh	HR	Researcher
66	Amrita Anandika	CSE	P.hD Scholar
67	Smitanjali Rout	Eee	PhD scholar
68	Sanjukta Barman	Geoinformatics	Student
69	Barsarani Mohanty	Mathematics	Students
70	Barsarani Mohanty	Mathematics	Students
71	Lipsa Jena	SoM	Research Scholar
72	Namrata pusti	Mathematics	student
		School of Applied	
73	Sonali Padhi	Science	Student
		School of applied	
74	Sanchita Pramanik	science	M.sc
75	Jasmini Nayak	School of applied science	Msc
75	Jasiiiiii Nayak	Electronics and	IVISC
76	S J Sreeram Pullakavi	communications	Assistant Professor
70	S S Siccian i anakavi	Electronics and	///////////////////////////////////////
		Telecommunication	
77	BIKASH Meher	Enginee	Assistant Professor
78	Satyanarayan Padhy	ECE	Assistant Professor
79	Basanta kumar sahu	Aerospace engineering	Student
80	M. Pavan Kumar	Aerospace engineering	Student
81	B Jyotirmayee	Department of Botany	Research Scholar
82	Dr. Sujata Chakravarty	CSE	Professor
			Full time research
83	Sangeeta Chhotaray	Paramedics	scholar
84	Sahil subudhi	Ece	Student
		ELECTRONICS AND	
		COMMUNICATION	
85	Sachidananda Panda	ENGINEERING	Student
86	Dr PSVRamana Rao	Mechanical -	Professor
87	Sonam Nayak	Ece	Student
88	DR. SANKATA BHANJAN PRUSTY	SCHOOL OF ECE	ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
00	FRUSIT		ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
89	Dr Rabinarayan Sethi	Department of Mechanical Engineeing	Asst. Professor
90	MAHESWAR MISHRA	CSE	ASST. PROFESSOR
91	Bibhu Prasad Ganthia	Electrical Engineering	Assistant Professor
92	Ananya Mishra	Botany	Research scholar
93	Satyaprakash Naik	Management	Research Scholar